Home Judson Declaration Biennial Gathering Newsletter Articles Steering Committee Join/Support Us


Thanks everyone for making our
Breakfast Gathering such a great time together!

The Coalition for Baptist Principles gathered for a breakfast meeting that intersected with our Baptist connection to Burma. Ken Sehested, a Baptist pastor and peace activist from Asheville NC, has traveled to the Burmese border for peace talks. Our honorees—Carol McVetty and Doug Harris—co-pastor a church in Chicago that hosts a Burmese congregation, among others. But all three of them also represent the best of what it means to be Baptist. In giving the Howard Moody Award this year, we also honor the memory of this Coalition co-founder who died at the age of 91 this past September.

Biennial Announcement

2013 biennial transcript:

the baptist impulse:
notes toward a renewal
of baptist identity

by Ken Sehested
available by clicking here

and get to know this year’s awardees
as introduced by Holly Bean:

click here


baptist principles at the 2013 biennial in Overland Park KS

Tom McKibbens, Steering Committee Chair

Holly Bean, introducing the Howard Moody Award

Doug Harris, Holly Bean, Carol McVetty, Laura Harris-Adam


Ken Sehested